Notre Dame Cross Country Historic Highlights

2006-In Coach Jon Sutherland’s first year both boys and girls teams advance to CIF Prelims for the first time since 1998. Both teams continue on to CIF Finals, for the first time in school history. Charles Maginnis V places 15th at CIF D4 State Meet. Captains-Hayden Healy boys, Michelle Lewis girls

2007-Girls win Mission League Championship for first time ever, undefeated in league! Michelle Lewis makes first team all Mission League for fourth year in a row. Boys and girls advance to CIF Finals. Charles Maginnis V finishes 2nd at CIF Finals, 5th at D4 State Meet. Captains Charles Maginnis V boys, Michelle Lewis and Cristina Lucas girls

2008-Girls advance to CIF Prelims, Cristina Lucas to CIF Finals. Cristina Lucas makes all Mission League for third year in a row. Captain Cristina Lucas

2009-Kazia Mermel 5th 1st team all Mission League, Girls advance to CIF Prelims, Richard Lucas 3rd, Will Conway 7th, Shawn Dunn 11th, 1st team all Mission League. Boys make it to State Meet for first time in seven years. Will Conway 7th, Richard Lucas 9th make first team all-CIF. Boys place 10th at CIF State Meet, Richard Lucas places 11th, Will Conway 14th. Captain Richard Lucas,  Jacqueline Hansen, two-time world record setter in the woman’s marathon joins the Running Knights as volunteer assistant coach.

2010-Girls advance to CIF Finals. Kazia Mermel 3rd, Stephanie LaFace 5th, Lily Peterson 10th make 1st team all Mission League. Boys 2nd place in Mission League, Will Conway 2nd 1st team all Mission League, Boys finish 3rd in CIF, Will Conway 1st ND’s first ever individual CIF XC Champion, Richard Lucas 3rd place 1st team all CIF, Boys finish in 4th place at CIF State Meet (best ever in school history), Will Conway finishes 3rd (best ever in school history) Captain Richard Lucas, Andy Ligeti serves as assistant coach for the boys.

2011-Captains Joe Mudy boys, Andraea Aksentijevic girls

2011-The Lady Running Knights advanced to CIF for the sixth year in a row by finishing second in the Mission League championships. Kazia Mermel (3rd), Stephanie LaFace (66h), Andraea Aksentijevic ( 8th), and Lily Peterson (10th) make first team All-Mission League. The boys advanced for the fifth time in six years, lead by Matt Bloch (6th) first team all Mission League. At CIF Finals the girls finished 8th and the boys 13th. Matt Block made first team all CIF D4 with a time of 15:29 at Mt. Sac and advanced to the CIF State Meet where he finished 1st team All-State with a 5th place finish. Team captains were Andraea Aksentijevic and Joe Mudy
2012-Captains Jack Apablasa and Lily Peterson.